Cricket Australia names Dhoni captain of ODI team of the decade, Kohli leader of Test squad

Tags: Australia, India, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli

Published on: Dec 25, 2019

India's 2011 World Cup-winning captain MS Dhoni has been named as the captain of the ODI team of the decade, a list compiled by Cricket Australia. As many as Indians are part of the 11-member squad. While Dhoni has been named skipper and wicket-keeper, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are the other Indians in the team.

Rohit Sharma will open the innings with South African Hashim Amla while Kohli will come in at number three. AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Starc, and Lasith Malinga are the other key members of the squad.

Journalist Martin Smith, who put together the ODI team of the year, wrote about Dhoni in, "The input of MS Dhoni with the bat did tail off during the latter part of the decade, but he was a dominant force in a golden period for India's one-day side. Having assured his greatness by guiding his nation to World Cup glory on home soil in 2011, the right-hander became India's ultimate finisher with the bat."

CA's ODI team of the decade: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga

A Test team of the decade was also put together by Cricket Australia. Indian captain Virat Kohli has been named captain of the team, and he is the only Indian in the 11-member squad. England's Alastair Cook and Australia's David Warner will join forces at the top of the order. Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Ab de Villiers (wk), Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, and James Anderson are the other important members of the team.

Praising Kohli, Adam Burnett, who has compiled the Test team of the decade, wrote in, "The once self-described brat has also evolved into one of the game's most respected figures, recently speaking out about mental health and ushering in a new standard of fitness within his country's cricket ranks."

CA's Test team of the decade: Virat Kohli (c), Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Ab de Villiers (wk), Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson.

While India, under Kohli, are sitting on top of the World Test Championship table, Dhoni is the only captain in history to have won all three ICC titles -- World Cup, World T20 and Champions Trophy.

--Renin Wilben Albert

Related News