All-round efforts from Laxmi Ratan Shukla helps Bengal clinch Vijay Hazare Trophy

Tags: Vijay Hazare Trophy 2011/12, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Suryakumar Ashok Yadav, Wasim Jaffer, Sourav Chandidas Ganguly

Published on: Mar 12, 2012

News and Scorecard Update of Bengal Vs Mumbai, Final at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2011/12

India discard Laxmi Ratan Shulka came up with a dream all-round performance to help Bengal to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2011/12 (Ranji One Day Tournament). The 30-year-old Shukla who played 3 ODIs for India as a teenager in 1999 took 4 wickets and then followed it up with an explosive century to power Bengal to a 6-wicket victory over Mumbai today in the Final at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi.

LR ShuklaBatting first after winning the toss, Mumbai got bowled out for a modest 248. Wasim Jaffer, opening the batting scored a quick fire 61 from 48 balls with 10 fours and a six. Youngster Suryakumar Yadav scored 50 from 68 balls with 7 fours. However, none of the Mumbai batsmen got the big score which really mattered. Fast bowler Shami Ahmed took 2 for 41 in 9 overs and medium pacer LR Shukla came up with outstanding figures of 9.2-1-38-4.

Bengal chased the target of 249 with 23 balls to spare in a comfortable chase thanks to LR Shukla’s 106* (from 90 balls with 12 fours and 2 sixes). Anustup Majumdar helped himself to an unbeaten 50 from 45 balls with 7 fours. Sourav Ganguly, the Skipper led from the front with 10-048-0 and a decent knock of 38 from 53 balls with 6 fours.

Related News