Perera, Mathews help SL to level series in 2nd ODI

Tags: Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka 2014, Sri Lanka Vs Pakistan 2nd ODI at Hambantota, Aug 26, 2014, Narangoda Liyanaarachchilage Thissara Chirantha Perera, Angelo Davis Mathews, Mohammad Hafeez

Published on: Aug 26, 2014

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Sri Lanka have leveled the 3-match ODI Series 1-1 with a crushing 77-run win at Hambantota in the second ODI.

By BV Swagath

Sri Lanka have leveled the 3-match ODI Series 1-1 with a crushing 77-run win at Hambantota in the second ODI.

A perfect batting show saw the hosts pile up 310 for 9. Pakistan got off to flier with Mohammad Hafeez scoring a rapid fifty but the visitors could not sustain the momentum for a longer period. The Lankans fought back superbly with the ball to bowl out Pakistan for 233 in 43.5 overs.

The star of the day and also the Man of the Match was Thisara Perera who scored a smashing 65 from 36 balls with 5 fours and 4 sixes and then came up with 3 for 19 in three overs with the ball.

Skipper Angelo Mathews was once again brilliant yet unlucky to miss out on a maiden ODI century. Mathews scored a Captain’s knock of 93 from 115 balls to fight it out on a slow wicket in the afternoon session. Mahela Jayawardene contributed with a breezy 67 from 74 balls as SL did well to come out of a trick position of 62 for 3 in the 11th over.

Mohammad Hafeez was another all-rounder who had a great day taking 3 for 39 in 10 overs and then chipping in with 62 from 49 balls with 11 fours. Opener Ahmed Shehzad scored a slow 56 from 80 balls and like Hafeez couldn’t finish with a bigger score. Rangana Herath bowled outstandingly well in a crucial second spell for Sri Lanka to come up with 10-2-38-2 which included the big wickets of Misbah-ul-Haq and Sohaib Maqsod.

Toss and Teams: Sri Lanka have won the toss and chose to bat first in the 2nd ODI at Hambantota. The hosts who had lost the 1st ODI here have made one change with leg-spinner Seekkugge Prasanna replacing Dinesh Chandimal. Pakistan have made one change with Younis Khan replaced with Sharjeel Khan. Younis Khan is back to Pakistan because of personal reasons. The pitch for this match looks very dry and full of cracks. So it means that the spinners will have a big role to play.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (WK), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews (C), Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Seekkuge Prasanna, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga

Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal (WK), Misbah-ul-Haq (C), Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan

Related News