Afridi, Imran Nazir help Dhaka Gladitors to lift the inaugural BPL T20

Tags: Bangladesh Premier League 2012, Imran Nazir, Shakib Al Hasan

Published on: Feb 29, 2012

Match Highlights of Barisal Burners Vs Dhaka Gladiators, Final at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur, Bangladesh Premier League 2012

The Pakistani pair of Shahid Afridi and Imran Nazir came good to help Dhaka Gladiators to defeat Barisal Burners by 8 wickets in the BPL 2012 Final at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Needing a modest 141 to win from 20 overs, opener Imran Nazir eased the Dhaka Gladiators in the run chase with a smashing 75 from 43 balls (with 6 fours and 6 sixes). No.3 Anamul Haque played second foil to him scoring an unbeaten 49 (from 38 balls with 5 fours and a six) to see the Dhaka Gladiators complete the run chase in just 15.4 overs.

Imran Nazir was the Man of the Match in the BPL FinalEarlier the Mashrafe Mortaza led Dhaka Gladiators had won the toss and asked Barisal Burners to bat first. Barring a superb 70 (from 51 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes) by Skipper and Opener Brad Hodge, the rest of the batsmen failed to contribute anything significant for the Barisal Burners who were restricted to 140 for 7. Shahid who joined the tournament late bowled well for his 3 for 23 in 4 overs.

Imran Nazir got the Man of the Match for his blazing 75. Shakib Al Hasan, Captain of the Khulna Royal Bengals got the Player of the Series award.

Related News