Pune Warriors clinch low-scoring contest against hosts Mumbai Indians

Tags: Mumbai Indians Vs Pune Warriors 3rd Match at Mumbai - Apr 6, 2012, Indian Premier League - 2012, Steven Peter Devereux Smith, Ashok Bhimchandra Dinda, Murali Kartik

Published on: Apr 06, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Mumbai Indians Vs Pune Warriors at Wankhede Stadium - Match Highlights: DLF IPL 2012

Ashok Dinda bowls Pune Warriors to 29-run win

Pune Warriors pulled off a tremendous upset at the Wankhede Stadium defeating hosts Mumbai Indians by 29 runs in the 3rd match of the IPL 5! Mumbai Indians had no answers to the superb bowling from the likes of Ashok Dinda and Murali Kartik on a turning pitch. Marlon Samuels and Rahul Sharma with their flat quick deliveries also dented the Mumbai Indians from getting anywhere closer to the Pune Warriors’ 129.

The much needed opening for the visitors came in just the second ball of the innings when Murali Kartik got the brand new ball to turn away square to beat the explosive Richard Levi and have him stumped out for a duck. Very soon, Ashok Dinda joined the party taking two wickets to leave Mumbai Indians at 5 for 3 in two overs.

Ashok Dinda captured 4 for 17Mumbai got a partnership going between Dinesh Karthik and James Franklin but the former got out at the wrong time in the 11th over. Dinesh Karthik (32 from 32 balls with 4 fours and a six) got stumped out off Murali Karik who shortened his length and ripped it away to have Mumbai at 54 for 4. The next big blow came in the 16th over when Rahul Sharma with a flipper cleaned up the dangerous Kieron Pollard. The hosts had to settle for a paltry 100 for 9 towards the end.

Ashok Dinda was the hero with 4 for 17 in 4 overs. The spinners - Murali Kartik (2 for 14 in 3 overs), Marlon Samuels (1 for 21 in 4 overs) and Rahul Sharma (4-0-16-1) strangled the hosts completely. Steven Smith got the Man of the Match for his crucial knock of 39 in the first half.

Pune Warriors struggle to reach 129 for 9

Mumbai Indians are all set to win their second match in a row after restricting Pune Warriors to just 129 for 9 at the Wankhede Stadium. It may be a low total but batting may not be that easy with the pitch taking square turn! Left arm spinner Pragyan Ojha (4-0-23-1) was almost unplayable as he often went onto beat the right handers with turn and bounce.

The Pune Warriors also struggled against the accuracy of Lasith Malinga who came up with incredible figures of 4-1-16-2. The rest of the bowlers and the superb fielding efforts saw Mumbai Indians have Pune Warriors struggling all along. Apart from Robin Uthappa (36 from 33 balls with 3 fours) and Steven Smith (39 from 32 balls with 4 fours), none of the Pune batsmen could get going on a dry pitch.

Toss and Teams: Mumbai Indians have won the toss and asked the Sourav Ganguly led Pune Warriors to bat first at the Wankhede Stadium in the 3rd match of the DLF IPL 2012. Mumbai Indians are coming into this match having defeated Chennai Super Kings in the tournament opener. For the Pune Warriors, it is their first match of this IPL.

The big news is that Sachin Tendulkar is missing in the playing XI for Mumbai Indians perhaps because of his finger injury. He has been replaced with Suryakumar Yadav.

Mumbai Indians: SA Yadav, RE Levi, AT Rayudu, RG Sharma, KD Karthik (Wicket Keeper), KA Pollard, JEC Franklin, Harbhajan Singh (Captain), SL Malinga, PP Ojha, MM Patel

Pune Warriors: RV Uthappa (Wicket Keeper), SC Ganguly (Captain), CJ Ferguson, MN Samuels, MK Pandey, SPD Smith, B Kumar, R Sharma, WD Parnell, M Kartik, AB Dinda

Related News