Karachi Zebras beat Abbottabad Falcons in last thriller win

Tags: Faysal Bank T20 Cup 2011, Karachi Zebras vs Abbottabad Falcons, Karachi Zebras, Abbottabad Falcons

Published on: Sep 28, 2011

Rameez Aziz and Hasan Raza pulled off a heist as Karachi Zebras beat Abbottabad Falcons off the last ball of the game and claim a six-wicket victory.

Rameez Aziz and HasanRaza pulled off a heist asKarachi ZebrasbeatAbbottabad Falconsoff the last ball of the game and claim asix-wicket victory. Karachi had slumped to 28 for 4 in the fifth over and looked unlikely to threaten Abbottabad's total of 158 that was built around YasirHameed's 73. But Aziz and Raza first steadied the innings and then launched a counter-attack over the closing overs to stun their opponents. Raza was the more aggressive of the two; his 74 came from 50 balls and included 11 fours. Aziz ended the day on 67 from 53 balls, with 10 fours. Their 132-run partnership was memorably capped by Raza as he struck left-arm spinner Khalid Usman for the winning runs.


ImranFarhat and TaufeeqUmar poweredLahore Eaglesto their third win in a row at the National Stadium in Karachi. Farhat and Umar both made half-centuries as Lahore cruised pastQuetta Bearsbynine wickets with 23 balls to spare. Quetta struggled after choosing to bat, as Lahore's bowlers proved difficult to get away. Umar was in the thick of the action in the field, running out Bismillah Khan and Abid Ali, the latter's wicket setting off a Quetta collapse. It took a quickfire 26 from Saeed Khan just to push his side to 125. Lahore's openers made short work of their target. Farhat was the dominant partner, striking six fours and a six in his 50, which came from 33 balls. Umar was a little more circumspect, his 50 taking 49 balls and containing five fours. The win consolidated Lahore's position at the top of Group A.

A collective bowling effort helpedSialkot Stallionswin by five balls to spare againstLahore Lionsat the National Stadium in Karachi. Seamer Naved-ul-Hasan bagged three wickets and was supported by Sarfraz Ahmed, RazaHasan and left-arm spinner AbdurRehman, each of whom took three. Lahore captain Abdul Razzaq made a quickfire 42 but the lower order crumbled and folded for 121. Sialkot lost their openers in quick time in the chase but wicketkeeperShakeelAnsar (42) and ShahidYousuf (47) got their team back on track. The pair added 72 and captain ShoaibMalik stayed through to the end with an unbeaten 15.

Related News