RahulDravid continues to be at the receiving end of controversial decisions on the current England tour as he was once again on Saturday ruled out caught behind despite 'Hot Spot' not detecting an edge off his bat.
England paceman Stuart Broad appealed for a catch behind the wicket off his own bowling in the first ODI here, but umpire Billy Doctrove ruled the appeal not out. After England asked for a review, despite several replays, the edge off Dravid's bat could not be established. How on the earth Dravid was still given out can only be told by one
Earlier, in the third Test, Dravid was ruled caught-behind off James Anderson in India's second innings even though his bat had hit his shoelace, and not the ball.
Then, in the fourth Test, he was again given out caught-behind in India's second innings after a referral by England, even though the snickometer apparently showed that there was no contact between the ball and bat before it landed into England wicket-keeper Matt Prior's gloves.
These incidents are sure to fuel the DRS debate and add strength to BCCI's stand as they have opposed the adoption of DRS expressing doubts on technology.
On a different note, this series seems to have everything to do with Dravid. When India needs runs, it's Dravid. When India needs batsmen for Twenty20 and ODIs, it's Dravid. And when it comes to DRS controversies, its Dravid again who has to be on the receiving end of it.