Pakistan T20, ODI Squad for West Indies Tour 2011

Tags: Pakistan tour of West indies - 2011, Pakistan, West Indies, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq

Published on: Apr 06, 2011

Pakistan Squad T20 & ODI for West Indies Tour-Akmal, Razzaq Dropped:

Pakistan has announced T20 / ODI Squad for Tour to West Indies in April / May 2011. Senior Players including Experienced Younis Kahan, Umar Gul are given rest. Shahid Afridi remains Captain for West Indies tour only in T20s and ODIs.

Test Team squad will be announced later and most probably Younis Khan and Umar Gul will return back into test squad. Kamran Akmal keeping during the world cup was very bad and he dropped many catches playing vital role in downing his team. Against New Zealand where he dropped centurion Ross Taylor catcg three times, including twice early on, as well as very bad keeping in matches against Sri Lanka and the semi-final with India – have finally proved too much. Coach Waqar Younis hinted some days ago that it is time for a new wicketkeeper to be blooded, and Salman as a new wicket keeper got the nod.

Salman Pakistan New Wicket Keeper:

With 103 first-class games to his name, the Karachi-born Salman, 29, has been on the fringes of selection for a while. A few years ago he was thought by many to be the best wicketkeeper in the land though in recent times, he had been overlooked behind Sarfraz Ahmed, Zulqarnain Haider and Adnan Akmal.

“He is the best of the lot,” Rashid Latif, former Pakistan captain and wicketkeeper said. Salman was Latif’s deputy at Allied Bank Limited (ABL) in 2000 and worked with him later as well. “He came into ABL as my deputy wicket keeper and I worked with him then. After that we both joined Port Qasim Authority team in 2006, me as coach and Salman as a main wicketkeeper. He is an athletic man and a good batsman too for all formats.

The tour to West Indies will start with a warm-up match from April 18, 2011 while the only Twenty20 will be played on April 21 in St Lucia. The five-match ODI series will start on 23rd April, and the Test leg of the tour will commence on May 12.

Pakistan Squad for West Indies Tour ODI & T20 Only:

Squad: Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Taufeeq Umar, Ahmed Shehzad, Misbah-ul-Haq, Usman Salahuddin, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal, Abdur Rehman, Saeed Ajmal, Tanvir Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Hammad Azam, Aizaz Cheema and Mohammad Salman (wk)

Reserves: Rameez Raja (jnr), Sadaf Hussain, Asif Zakir, Sohail Khan, Zulifqar Babar

Related News