Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill tons set up India’s series win over Australia in Indore

Tags: Australia tour of India 2023., India vs Australia, 2nd ODI at Indore, Sep 24, 2023, India, Australia

Published on: Sep 25, 2023

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Shubman Gill (104 off 97) and Shreyas Iyer (105 off 90) hit superlative tons as India beat Australia by 99 runs [DLS method] at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Sunday, September 24 in the second ODI of the three-match series. With the comprehensive win, the Men in Blue clinched the series 2-0 and also maintained their unbeaten ODI record in Indore.

Australia won the toss and bowled first, but ended up conceding 399/5 in their 50 overs. Set a revised DLS target of 317 in 33 overs after rain interrupted proceedings, the Aussies were bowled out for 217 in 28.2 overs. There were 140/8 at one point but Sean Abbott (54 off 36) in the company of Josh Hazlewood (23 off 16) ensured the Aussies finished with a somewhat respectable total.

Batting first, India lost Ruturaj Gaikwad for 8 as he nicked a good delivery from Hazlewood to the keeper. Shreyas and Gill, however, displayed tremendous form, featuring in a 200-run stand for the second wicket. Both batters took turns to dominate the Australian bowlers. While Shreyas struck six fours and four sixes, Gill hit 11 fours and three maximums.

After both batters fell trying to carry on playing aggressive strokes, skipper KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav put the finishing touches to the innings. Both batters struck half centuries for the second game in a row. While Rahul scored 52 off 38 balls, hitting three fours and three sixes, SKY brought out his T20 game in the end. He took on Cameron Green in one over and smacked him for four consecutive sixes.

Suryakumar ended up unbeaten on 72 off only 37 balls, hitting six fours and six sixes. For Australia, there were some pretty poor numbers. Cameron Green went for 103 runs in his 10 overs and Sean Abbott for 91.

In the chase, Australia got off to a horrendous start, losing Matthew Short (9) and stand-in captain Steven Smith (0) off consecutive deliveries to Prasidh Krishna. David Warner scored 53 off 39, but Ravichandran Ashwin (3/41) set Australia back by claiming three wickets in quick succession. He dismissed Marnus Labuschagne (27), Warner and Josh Inglis (6).

Abbott gave Australia something to cheer about, hammering four fours and five sixes. He featured in an entertaining ninth-wicket stand of 77 with Hazlewood. Abbott was the last man dismissed cleaned up by a sharply turning delivery from Ravindra Jadeja (3/42).

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News