Micromax Asia Cup 2012 begins today with Bangladesh Vs Pakistan at Mirpur

Tags: Bangladesh Vs Pakistan 1st Match at Mirpur - Mar 11, 2012, Asia Cup - 2012

Published on: Mar 11, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

The four-nation Micromax Asia Cup starts on March 11 with Bangladesh Vs Pakistan in the opening match at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. Live Ball by Ball Scores and Commentary of Asia Cup can be followed on Cricwaves.com.

The 11th edition of the Micromax Asia Cup 2012 begins today at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. Hosts Bangladesh will clash with Pakistan in a day/night affair. The Bangladeshi players are fresh after playing in the Bangladeshi Premier League while Pakistan come into this tournament with their confidence shattered following a whitewash in their ODI Series in UAE in the hands of England.

All the matches of the Asia Cup 2012 will be played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur. The pitches at this ground have traditionally been slow and low. Add to that the hot and humid conditions at Dhaka in this part of the year will deteriorate the pitch making it very dry. Spinners will have a big role in this tournament and Bangladesh always had a heavy spin oriented attack which usually contains left-arm spinners.

Asia Cup 2012The pitch for the opening game does have grass cover but it’s suspected to be present only to bind the surface and hold the cracks together.

The tournament is short and sweet with only 4 teams taking part which includes the three giant Asian nations – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka along with hosts Bangladesh. Each team plays the other once before the final on March 22nd. Just the six league matches will be played in the tournament along with the Final.

Match Timings: All the matches of the Asia Cup 2012 are scheduled to start at 08:00 GMT/14:00 local/13:30 IST

Like always, your website Cricwaves.com will bring you the Live Ball by Ball Scorecard with Text Commentary and Audio Bytes along with live statistics of all the Asia Cup 2012 matches.

Following are the squads of the four nations for the Micromax Asia Cup 2012:

Bangladesh Squad for Asia Cup 2012 : Imrul Kayes, Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Jahurul Islam, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain and Wicket Keeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmud Ullah (Vice-Captain), Nasir Hossain, Masrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Elias Sunny, Nazmul Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Shahadat Hossain, Anamul Hoque

Pakistan Squad for Asia Cup 2012 : Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Hammad Azam, Asad Shafique, Shahid Afridi, Azhar Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (Wicket Keeper), Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Umar Gul, Aizaz Cheema, Wahab Riaz

India Squad for Asia Cup 2012 : M S Dhoni (Captain), Virat Kohli (Vice-Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Irfan Pathan and Ashok Dinda

Sri Lanka Squad for Asia Cup 2012 : Mahela Jayawardena (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara (Wicket Keeper), Dinesh Chandimal (Wicket Keeper), Angelo Mathews (Vice Captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Farveez Maharoof, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekera, Lasith Malinga, Seekuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal

Related News