IPL 2023 final between CSK and GT moved to reserve day due to rain

Tags: Indian T20 League 2023, Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans, Final at Ahmedabad, May 28, 2023, Chennai XI, Gujarat XI

Published on: May 29, 2023

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

The final of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, which was scheduled to be played on Sunday, May 28, has been postponed to Monday, May 29 due to rain. Even the toss was not possible on Sunday at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad for the final between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Gujarat Titans (GT). The umpires waited for more than three hours after the scheduled start of play, but the wet conditions made it impossible for the match to begin on Sunday.

An official update from the Indian Premier League Twitter handle confirmed, “The #Final of the #TATAIPL 2023 has been moved to the reserve day on 29th May - 7:30 PM IST at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

“Physical tickets for today will be valid tomorrow. We request you to keep the tickets safe & intact,” the IPL organizers’ statement added.

Chennai Super Kings were the first team to book their place in the IPL 2023 final. They beat defending champions Gujarat Titans (GT) by 15 runs in Qualifier 1 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai to enter their 10th IPL final. This win was also CSK’s first triumph over GT in the IPL after three losses.

Gujarat Titans themselves entered their second final in as many years by defeating Mumbai Indians (MI) by 62 runs in Qualifier 2. Batting first, GT put up 233/3 as Shubman Gill slammed 129 off 60 and then held MI to 171 as Mohit Sharma claimed 5/10.

In case a full day’s play is not possible on the reserve day, umpires will try for a five-overs-per-side contest. If that also does not happen, a Super Over will be held. If that also cannot be organized, Gujarat Titans will be declared winners on basis of finishing above Chennai Super Kings in the points table.

CSK vs GT IPL 2023 final squads

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Mitchell Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Sisanda Magala, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, RS Hangargekar, Bhagath Varma, Nishant Sindhu

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Hardik Pandya (c), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami, Joshua Little, Srikar Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Odean Smith, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Pradeep Sangwan, Matthew Wade, Jayant Yadav, Dasun Shanaka, Abhinav Manohar, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Urvil Patel, Yash Dayal

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News