Sri Lanka beat Zims in a canter

Tags: ZIM V SL 3rd ODI at Bulawayo Jun 01, 2010, Tri-Series In Zimbabwe 2010, Tillakaratne Mudiyanselage Dilshan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Suraj Randiv Kaluhalamulla

Published on: Jun 01, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Sri Lanka defeated Zimbabwe by 9 wickets with 64 balls to spare in the paltry chase of 119.

Sri Lanka Innings

Sri Lanka defeated Zimbabwe by 9 wickets with 64 balls to spare in the paltry chase of 119. The Lankans have got a bonus point with this win and are sitting at the top of the table. An easy win it has been after the Zimbawean batsmen were stifled by the Sri Lankan spinners on a damp pitch early on. Chasing 119 after that was a cakewalk through Dilshan and Tharanga who put on an opening stand of 86 inside 11 overs. Dilshan eased through with an unbeaten 60 from 45 balls with 7 fours and a six over long on. Tharanga was well set on 40 before running himself out.

The Man of the Match award went to the tall off spinner Suraj Randiv.

Zimbabwe Innings

Zimbabwe have been bowled out for just 118 with spinners - Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis and leggie Jeevan Mendis doing the damage. Barring Hamilton Masakadza, who stayed for almost the entire innings, none of the other batsmen crossed even 20. Opener Masakadza made 62 from 69 balls with 4 fours and a six. It was Masakadza's 15th ODI half century. While Ajantha Mendis was extremely tight giving away only 12 runs for his two wickets, Suraj Randiv got the ball to turn and bounce sharply to come up with 3 for 23 in 5 overs.

It should be a very easy chase for Sri Lanka who are looking for their first win of this tournament having lost to India the other day in a comprehensive manner.

Toss and Teams

Sri Lanka have won the toss and asked Zimbabwe to bat first in a rain-affected third match at Bulawayo. As many as four hours of play has been lost due to persistent rain this morning at the venue. The match has been reduced to a 26-over contest with the three powerplays distributed into 6,3 and 2 overs each.

Zimbabwe : Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (WK), Gregory Lamb, Craig Ervine, Charles Coventry, Elton Chigumbura (C), Andy Blignaut, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya, Ray Price, Chris Mpofu

Sri Lanka : Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan (C), Dinesh Chandimal (WK), Chamara Kapugedera, Chamara Silva, Thissara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suraj Randiv, Dilhara Fernando, Ajantha Mendis

Related News